October 15, 2013

  • Learning from Jotham: "he contents himself" | Judges 9:1-21

    I'm currently studying through the book of Judges, and the account of Jotham, Gideon's youngest son (see Judges 9), stood out to me. Here's Matthew Henry writing about him (emphasis mine):

    We have here the only testimony that appears to have been borne against the wicked confederacy of Abimelech and the men of Shechem. It was a sign they had provoked God to depart from them that neither any prophet was sent nor any remarkable judgment, to awaken this stupid people, and to stop the progress of this threatening mischief. Only Jotham, the youngest son of Gideon, who by a special providence escaped the common ruin of his family (5), dealt plainly with the Shechemites, and his speech, which is here recorded, shows him to have been a man of such great ingenuity and wisdom, and really such an accomplished gentleman, that we cannot but the more lament the fall of Gideon's sons. Jotham did not go about to raise an army out of the other cities of Israel (in which, one would think, he might have made a good interest for his father's sake), to avenge his brethren's death, much less to set up himself in competition with Abimelech, so groundless was the usurper's suggestion that the sons of Gideon aimed at dominion (2); but he contents himself with giving a faithful reproof to the Shechemites, and fair warning of the fatal consequences. He got an opportunity of speaking to them from the top of Mount Gerizim, the mount of blessings, at the foot of which probably the Shechemites were, upon some occasion or other, gathered together (Josephus says, solemnizing a festival), and it seems they were willing to hear what he had to say.

    * * *

    O LORD God, thank You and bless You that You know our frame, and You remember we are dust – You know my frame and remember I am dust... and You know all things... and You know how prone I am to DIScontentment. Forgive me for being discontent, restless, and unhappy in the place You have me. Help me to serve You from the heart:  to be content, restful, and happy in the place You have sent me and in the ministry You have appointed to me.

    It is Your will for all Your children that we have a walk worthy of You, fully pleasing You, being fruitful in every good work, and increasing in the knowledge of God; strengthened with all might according to Your glorious power, for all patience and longsuffering with joy (~ see Colossians 1:9-12). Holy Father, fill me with the meek and lowly Spirit of Jesus, so I might not only desire to do all Your will, but also to delight to do all Your will – like Your blessed Son. It is only as I humble myself and take His yoke upon me and learn from Him that I will find rest for my soul and joy in Your service no matter the circumstances.

    Grant me grace to do no less, nor to do no more than You have ordained for me – and with that to content myself – like Jotham. Fill me with Your heavenly wisdom, that I might ponder the path of my feet and eschew evil, that I might not to turn to the right or to the left, but keep my heart in tune with Yours, my gaze fixed upon You, and my hand to the plow appointed by You, that I might be deemed fit for Your Kingdom.

    Most importantly, help me to steadfastly seek Your face, O God, that I might experience the unsurpassed blessing of unalloyed contentment in You – in Your presence is fullness of joy and at Your right hand are pleasures forevermore! ~ Psalm 16:11. Whenever I am tempted to question, to doubt, or to grumble and complain, may my heart overflow and my lips pour forth praise to You, crying "Jotham! Jotham! Jotham!" ~ meaning "Jehovah (is) perfect!" – for You are perfect, O LORD, and all Your ways, though unsearchable and inscrutable, are perfect!

    II Samuel 22:31 (ESV)
    This God—his way is perfect...

    Psalm 40:8
    I delight to do Your will, O my God,
    And Your law is within my heart.

    Psalm 37:3-4
    Trust in the LORD, and do good;
    Dwell in the land, and feed on His faithfulness.
    Delight yourself also in the LORD,
    And He shall give you the desires of your heart.

    Trust and obey, for there's no other way
    to be happy in Jesus, but to trust and obey.
    (from "Trust and Obey" by John H. Sammis)

     


    Related:

    Priest forever, do not delay! ~ Psalm 110 | letter 165 on assurance and joy
    Three Years Later: Dancing & Skipping with Mrs. Durham | Letter 147 on fighting for joy
    Martin Luther: “The Spirit … renders the heart glad & free, as the law demands”
    Lent V. – You follow me! (Are we steadfastly setting our faces to His will?)
    Lenten Reflections: “so Joel had another appointment”
    the overwhelmed minister’s prayer and the promise of God’s sufficiency
    A Hymn for “Shelf” Times… “Lord, We Know That Thou Art Near Us”

    Scripture quotations unless otherwise indicated are taken from the NKJV.

     

Comments (1)

  • I enjoyed this post! So good to be reading your work here once again!

    Psalm 16 reminds me: (vs. 2) "I say to the Lord, 'You are my Lord; I have no good apart from you.'"

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About me...

Christian hedonist in training. Pressing on to know more and more of the joy of the LORD. Pleading with God to rend the heavens and revive and refresh my own soul, as well as His Church, to His praise, honor and glory.

Thank God. He can make men and women in middle life sing again with a joy that has been chastened by a memory of their past failures. ~ Alan Redpath

My other websites

tent of meeting: Prayer for reformation & revival

(See also Zechariah821. Zechariah821 is a mirror site of tent of meeting, found on WordPress)

deerlifetrumpet: Encouragement for those seeking reformation & revival in the Church

RSS feed