August 24, 2009

  • the overwhelmed minister's prayer and the promise of God's sufficiency

    All around me
    I see the walls that have arisen.
    I am but a single soldier,
    I can't march around all the walls,
    I only have two feet to walk.
    Help me, my Father.

    My child, when I said march around the walls
    I didn't mean all of them!
    I have not left you as an orphan.
    My Spirit, the Helper, abides with you forever.
    My grace is always sufficient for you.
    There are other soldiers.
    You go and march around the wall I send you to.

    All around me
    I hear the barren fields calling out.
    I am but a single sower,
    I can't sow all the fields,
    I only have two arms to carry Your seed.
    Help me, my Father.

    My child, when I said sow My seed

    I didn't mean all of it!
    I have not left you as an orphan.
    My Spirit, the Helper, abides with you forever.
    My grace is always sufficient for you.
    There are other sowers.
    You go and plant the field I send you to.

    All around me
    I hear the sheep crying.
    I am but a single shepherd,
    I can't feed all Your sheep,
    I only have two hands to feed them.
    Help me, my Father.

    My child, when I said feed My sheep
    I didn't mean all of them!
    I have not left you as an orphan.
    My Spirit, the Helper, abides with you forever.
    My grace is always sufficient for you.
    There are other shepherds.
    You go and feed the sheep I send you to.

    All around me
    I see the fields white for harvest.
    I am but a single reaper,
    I can't harvest all the fields,
    I only have two hands to reap.
    Help me, my Father.

    My child, when I said reap the harvest
    I didn't mean all of it!
    I have not left you as an orphan.
    My Spirit, the Helper, abides with you forever.
    My grace is always sufficient for you.
    There are other reapers.
    You go and reap in the field I send you to.


    Related posts:

Comments (3)

  • OH I LOVE this!!! Beautiful Karen!

  • The Lord is not afraid to "delegate" the work of the Kingdom.  He abides with and in every soldier, sower, shepherd, and reaper.  His power is the ONLY power that any of them (including you and I) have to do His work.  He alone is great enough to oversee all of the Kingdom at one time and He alone has the wisdom to make it all succeed.   Your post is right on! 

     ...Now if only we can listen for our own orders and carry them out.

    Norm

  • @quest4god@revelife - ...Now if only we can listen for our own orders and carry them out.

    Right, that we might not only be hearers of the word, not only be teachers of the word, but be doers of it! As I've mentioned to you, God often uses my own past writing (both blogs & private journals) to convict me...This one is really doing so now. I'm really trying to listen to His voice so I'm clear about the field and flock He's calling me to...

    Thank God for the assurance that He alone is great enough to oversee all of the Kingdom at one time and He alone has the wisdom to make it all succeed.

    Appreciate your continued prayers, brother,
    Karen

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About me...

Christian hedonist in training. Pressing on to know more and more of the joy of the LORD. Pleading with God to rend the heavens and revive and refresh my own soul, as well as His Church, to His praise, honor and glory.

Thank God. He can make men and women in middle life sing again with a joy that has been chastened by a memory of their past failures. ~ Alan Redpath

My other websites

tent of meeting: Prayer for reformation & revival

(See also Zechariah821. Zechariah821 is a mirror site of tent of meeting, found on WordPress)

deerlifetrumpet: Encouragement for those seeking reformation & revival in the Church

RSS feed