July 29, 2013

  • Greetings from ... WordPress!

     
    I suppose it's possible Xanga may carry on, and if so, I've committed to keep this blog and my tent of meeting blog going on Xanga for another year... but if August 1, 2103 rolls around and there's no more Xanga, please read the following, so you'll know where to find me!

    Since it's looking more and more like Xanga 2.0 may not come into being...
    (they're still needing almost $ 14,000 by July 31)...

    I've been working to move my three blogs to WordPress...

    Waves

    Here are the new addresses:


    My deerlife Xanga blog can now be found at

    http://deerlifetrumpet.wordpress.com
    (Yep, somebody already had the deerlife name at WP.
    Please note: I originally had chosen the name deerlifexanga,
    but it's now deerlifetrumpet.)

     

    That was my trial by fire blog at WP, where I learned the ropes of WP -- well, still learning!!!
    I've got everything pretty set on that blog, or in the words of Emperor Palpatine:
    "Now witness the firepower of this fully armed and operational battle station!"
    (I'm not expecting to do much, if any, blogging there, but I did want to have a public record of that blog.)

     

       * * *

     

    My tent of meeting Xanga blog (prayer for reformation & revival) can now be found at

    http://zechariah821.wordpress.com.
    (Yep, once again, somebody else had the tent of meeting name at WP.)
    This blog still needs LOTS of editing and tweaking for formatting, links, etc., since I just imported it earlier today.

     

       * * *

     

    My blog here (naphtali deer) hasn't yet been imported to WP...
    (Um, yeah, do we really want to spend all summer long importing and editing blogs?!),
    but, Lord willing, I hope to import it into this WordPress site over the next couple days...
    UPDATE - August 2, 2013:
    Given that Xanga 2.0 seems like it's a go, I'm going to hold off on importing this blog to WP...

    but here's my WP site info. for future reference:

    http://naphtalideer.wordpress.com.
    (Whoo-Hoo! I did get to use my original name here, minus the underline...
    @greekphysique should be happy about that, I guess. ;) )

     

    When I began blogging here, I chose the name Naphtali since we'd studied through the book of Genesis in BSF the previous year, and the name Naphtali stood out to me. I explained why in my very first post here:

    So why Naphtali? Some of you may be wondering, "What's that all about?" Others may be familiar with the name. Naphtali was one of the sons of Jacob (Israel). In Bible Study Fellowship last year we studied the blessings Jacob gave his sons at the end of Genesis. The blessing to Naphtali popped out at me: "Naphtali is a deer let loose; he uses beautiful words" (NKJV, Genesis 49:21). In the months prior to that time I could see God beginning to loosen me from many things that were keeping me from worshipping and serving Him as He desired (and that, of course, is His continuing work in me). The phrase "he uses beautiful words" hit me since so often I have used my tongue in ways to harm others rather than to encourage and edify them, and it is God's desire for our words to honor and glorify Him (see James 3:10). My prayer is that this blog glorifies Him and encourages fellow believers in the Body of Christ.

    For His Glory,
    Karen

     

    On the header section of my blog here at Xanga, I've had the description:

    Beautiful words/the deer set free (Genesis 49:21)

    But, for my WP blog, I edited that to

    beautiful words / the deer set free / satisfied with Christ's favor...

    because in God's merciful kindness to me, He has seen fit to pour out upon me grace upon grace through the Lord Jesus Christ, to bless me with an increasing sense of His presence and favor beyond what I could have imagined (Ephesians 3:14-21!), which I wrote about in this post, and is described in Moses' blessing of Naphtali found in Deuteronomy 33:

    Deuteronomy 33:23a  And of Naphtali he said, O Naphtali, satisfied with favour, and full with the blessing of the LORD... (KJV)

    On such love, my soul, still ponder,
      Love, so great, so rich, so free;
    Say, while lost in holy wonder,
      Why, O Lord, such love to me?
    Hallelujah! Hallelujah!
      Grace shall reign eternally!
    Hallelujah! Hallelujah!
      Grace shall reign eternally!

    From:
    "Sov'reign Grace o'er Sin Abounding"
    by John Kent (1766-1843)

     

    My prayer is that you might open your mouth wider and wider, and let the LORD fill it with HIMSELF (Psalm 81:10; Luke 11:13), rather than seeking in vain to be filled with the trinkets and triumphs and trivia and treasures of this world which will never satisfy...

    Isaiah 55 (ESV)
    1  Come, everyone who thirsts,
    come to the waters;
    and he who has no money,
    come, buy and eat!
    Come, buy wine and milk
    without money and without price.
    2  Why do you spend your money for that which is not bread,
    and your labor for that which does not satisfy?
    Listen diligently to me, and eat what is good,
    and delight yourselves in rich food.

    “Thou hast made us for thyself, O Lord, and our hearts are restless until they find their rest in thee.” ~ Augustine

     

     


    P.S. - If you click through to my WordPress sites, you'll find info. about how to receive posts by e-mail, as well as RSS feed information, etc.

    P.P.S. - Lord willing, I'm hoping to write and post another blog here before Xanga shuts down... that'd be the long-awaited movie post for @llamalima –– long-awaited as in almost three years...

     


    Scripture quotations marked NKJV are taken from the New King James Version. Copyright © 1982 by Thomas Nelson, Inc. Used by permission. All rights reserved. / Scripture quotations marked KJV are taken from the King James Version of the Holy Bible. / Scripture quotations marked ESV are taken from The Holy Bible, English Standard Version. Copyright ©2001 by Crossway Bibles, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

     

Comments (2)

  • Thanks for that, Karen! :)

  • @GreekPhysique - :) There are some things I would have done differently if I had to start over blogging and the user name would have been one of them. You can't normally have underlines in the first part of urls. When I started here the addresses were http://www.xanga.com/naphtali_deer or whatever, but then they moved our user names upfront, but that's not really kosher in the rest of the cyber world. Well, I guess there's always been the Xanga way and the real world way, right? Sometimes that's been good and sometimes not so good. ;)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About me...

Christian hedonist in training. Pressing on to know more and more of the joy of the LORD. Pleading with God to rend the heavens and revive and refresh my own soul, as well as His Church, to His praise, honor and glory.

Thank God. He can make men and women in middle life sing again with a joy that has been chastened by a memory of their past failures. ~ Alan Redpath

My other websites

tent of meeting: Prayer for reformation & revival

(See also Zechariah821. Zechariah821 is a mirror site of tent of meeting, found on WordPress)

deerlifetrumpet: Encouragement for those seeking reformation & revival in the Church

RSS feed