January 1, 2013

  • Amazing Grace . . . upon Grace ~ the 240th anniversary

    Amazing Grace 240th anniversary from The John Newton Project on Vimeo.

    2013 is the 240th anniversary of John Newton's hymn Amazing Grace.

    This brief video (2 mins 18 secs) shows how John Newton was inspired to write the hymn Amazing Grace for New Year's Day, Friday 1 January 1773.

    John Newton wrote his hymn to accompany his sermon on 1 Chronicles 17:16,17. He drew inspiration from the life of King David in looking back to the past, looking around at the present, and looking forward to the future.

    Note Newton's own words for the 6 verses towards the end of the video. Hope you can encourage others to sing his original words!

    Amazing Grace holds the world record for having the greatest number of different recordings. The Library of Congress holds a collection of over 3,000 different recordings of Amazing Grace. It has become a song which reaches many people worldwide in many of life's circumstances - whether in joy or pain, celebration or suffering.

    Newton's Amazing Grace sermon can be downloaded from www.johnnewton.org .

    * * *


    John Newton (1725-1807)

    Amazing Grace

    (John Newton's original lyrics, written for New Year's Day 1773)

    Amazing grace!  (how sweet the sound)
    That saved a wretch like me!
    I once was lost, but now am found,
    Was blind, but now I see.

    'Twas grace that taught my heart to fear,
    And grace those fears relieved;
    How precious did that grace appear,
    The hour I first believed!

    Through many dangers, toils and snares,
    I have already come;
    'Tis grace has brought me safe thus far,
    And grace will lead me home.

    The Lord has promised good to me,
    His word my hope secures;
    He will my shield and portion be,
    As long as life endures.

    Yes, when this flesh and heart shall fail
    And mortal life shall cease;
    I shall possess, within the veil,
    A life of joy and peace.
     
    The earth shall soon dissolve like snow,
    The sun forbear to shine;
    But God, who called me here below,
    Will be forever mine.

    * * *

    If you have already begun to know the blessedness of God's Amazing Grace through the Gospel of Jesus Christ . . . including . . . a spiritual sight of your wretchedness and lostness; profound humility; a broken and contrite spirit; a thankful heart; joy and peace in believing; knowing Jesus Christ Himself as your Help, your Shield, your Strength, your Portion, your Friend, your Bridegroom, and your Beloved; experiencing the Good Shepherd's goodnesses and mercies pursuing you and satisfying you all the days of your life; God's love shed abroad in your heart by the Holy Spirit; the Spirit of adoption by whom you cry, "Abba, Father!"; full assurance of faith; patience in tribulation; everlasting consolation and good hope . . .

    are you continuing to press on to receive grace upon grace?

    "And from his fullness we have all received, grace upon grace."
    John 1:16

    John Newton was William Cowper's pastor, counselor and devoted friend. Reading through and reflecting upon Cowper's hymn "Dependence" (emphasis mine), we can begin to rightly examine ourselves and our desires for God and God's grace. . .


    DEPENDENCE.

    To keep the lamp alive,
    With oil we fill the bowl;
    ‘Tis water makes the willow thrive,
    And GRACE that feeds the soul.

    The Lord’s unsparing hand
    Supplies the living stream;
    It is not at our own command,
    But still derived from him.

    Beware of Peter’s word,
    Nor confidently say,
    “I never will deny thee, Lord,”
    But, “Grant I never may!”

    Man’s wisdom is to seek
    His strength in God alone;
    And e’en an angel would be weak,
    Who trusted in his own.

    Retreat beneath his wings,
    And in his GRACE confide;
    This more exalts the King of kings
    Than all your works beside.

    In Jesus is our store,
    GRACE issues from his throne;
    Whoever says, “I want no more,”
    Confesses he has NONE.

    Throughout this New Year, will you ask God to grant you stronger and more fervent desires for Jesus Christ, so you might experience, enjoy and exhibit grace upon grace –– that you might not stop satisfied with the taste of grace you've already received from His throne of infinite and abounding Amazing Grace?


    Related:

    birthday reflection: "the great & glorious possibilities" ~ "Now therefore, give me this mountain"
    Advent # 9 WHY HAS JESUS COME? Adoption: the highest privilege the gospel offers ~ J.I. Packer
    Grace flowing, abounding to us, Gifts for men, yea, the rebellious (Psalm 68:18)
    "I cannot consider myself to have been a believer (in the full sense of the word)" ~ John Newton & myself
    What is a nominal Christian?

    Scripture quotations are taken from The Holy Bible, English Standard Version. Copyright ©2001 by Crossway Bibles, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers. Used by permission. All rights reserved. Emphasis mine.

    Work found at http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:John_Newton.jpg  / {{PD-1923}}

Comments (6)

  • thanks for sharing this, i learned something!  i have sang all of the verses many times--they are sooo meaningful. thanks again--karen

  • That last verse is so precious to me!....But God, who called me here below,
    Will be forever mine.

  • @lifeontheWink - You're welcome! I wasn't aware of the history of the hymn either. I especially loved that portion about the snow.

    @quest4god@revelife - Amen. Forever!

  • I pray for grace. I practice humility. I listen to all. I read in my Bible. I am slow to anger. I shake in my shoes as I review my life. I abhor my sin. I repent. I rest in Him and I visualize myself with Him. This and other actions allow me to sleep at night and to rise thankfully the next morning. I thank God that it is no more difficult. I ask Jesus, as my Christ to bring onto me and into me the great fire of the Holy Spirit. I am thankful for my friends in Christ. By His Grace I am sincerely,
    Hunt

  • I requested that all of the verses to Amasing Grace be sent.

    Where is the verse that begins with, "When we've been there ten thousand years____?

    There is another verse that states ____"When all of our chains have been released_____

    Please email those verses as well.

    THANK YOU.
    IN HIS NAME,
    Judith Shainholtz

    • Hello Judith,

      I'm just going to include some info. here for you (as for others who might be asking the same question). The verses I cited above were John Newton's original verses, but there have been other verses added throughout the years.

      The verse "When we've been there ten thousand years..." wasn't actually penned by Newton. Please see here for that. And re: the verse "When all our chains...," you're most likely thinking of Chris Tomlin's version "Amazing Grace (MY Chains Are Gone)," which can be found here.

      Grace & peace in Christ / Romans 15:13,
      Karen

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About me...

Christian hedonist in training. Pressing on to know more and more of the joy of the LORD. Pleading with God to rend the heavens and revive and refresh my own soul, as well as His Church, to His praise, honor and glory.

Thank God. He can make men and women in middle life sing again with a joy that has been chastened by a memory of their past failures. ~ Alan Redpath

My other websites

tent of meeting: Prayer for reformation & revival

(See also Zechariah821. Zechariah821 is a mirror site of tent of meeting, found on WordPress)

deerlifetrumpet: Encouragement for those seeking reformation & revival in the Church

RSS feed