January 1, 2011

Comments (3)

  • How fully satisfying are resolutions based upon His abilities, not ours - trusting only in Him for all that we would "do."

    Such resolutions aim to glorify God to whom belongs all glory, honor, and praise!

  • Hi Karen, I saw this thoughtful post as a reality check. lol I have always liked setting 'goals.'  This was more true during my career days. I read lots of books on the subject both Christians and Secular.  My memory is a little weak here, but I did try to have a Biblical basis for those goals.  I was not too much as to New Year Resolutions. The few I tried were broken within a few days.  That is my recollection.

    I liked the last one---become like a child in my relationship to the Father. I think that most New Year Resolutions are OK, but I don't think those who write a NY Resolution have God in mind. I don't know, but I think it is 'self-improvement.' That is always shaky.

    frank

  • @quest4god@revelife - Amen. Yes, fully satisfying. It's a real blessedness for sure to have God's grace to do that.

    @ANVRSADDAY - Nothing wrong w/ goals, so long as they're God-honoring. We need to be cautious that we're wholly dependent on God's strength to accomplish them and not making goals only so we can say, "Look at me! Look what I've done!"

    I so agree w/ your comment re: self-improvement. Jesus continues to commend the poor and needy and tells us we must become like children; in that way we are totally dependent on Him and He gets all the praise, honor and glory for whatever good we do.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About me...

Christian hedonist in training. Pressing on to know more and more of the joy of the LORD. Pleading with God to rend the heavens and revive and refresh my own soul, as well as His Church, to His praise, honor and glory.

Thank God. He can make men and women in middle life sing again with a joy that has been chastened by a memory of their past failures. ~ Alan Redpath

My other websites

tent of meeting: Prayer for reformation & revival

(See also Zechariah821. Zechariah821 is a mirror site of tent of meeting, found on WordPress)

deerlifetrumpet: Encouragement for those seeking reformation & revival in the Church

RSS feed