April 29, 2009

  • Moderation in pursuing God? An answer from George Whitefield

    On Sunday I posted "Moderation in pursuing God? An answer from Jonathan Edwards."  Today I bring you some words from George Whitefield (from "George Whitefield's Journals") in answer to that the same question...

    Monday, April 3 [1738]. Had some further conversation with the young gentleman whose conversation I mentioned before, and who I hope is really quickened from above. He told me he used to wonder to hear me talk that all our thoughts, words, and actions ought to be dedicated to God; but now he perceived what I said to be true. How does the new nature give us new notions! It seems a difficult task to the natural man to turn his whole life into one continued sacrifice, but the spiritual man does it with ease. He feels a divine attraction in his soul, which as sensibly draws his heart towards God, as the loadstone attracts the needle. Draw us then, O God, and our affections will ascend up after Thee.

    Friday, April 13 [1739] ...I received another packet of letters from Bristol people, and was comforted of some more friends, with whom I took sweet counsel, and praised God lustily, and with a good courage. How are His mercies showered down upon me! What enlargements of heart have I experienced this night! Oh that I had a thousand tongues wherewith to praise my God!...

    And the Lord your God will circumcise your heart and the heart of your offspring, so that you will love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul, that you may live.

    –Deuteronomy 30:6

    In him also you were circumcised with a circumcision made without hands, by putting off the body of the flesh, by the circumcision of Christ, 12 having been buried with him in baptism, in which you were also raised with him through faith in the powerful working of God, who raised him from the dead.

    –Colossians 2:11-12


    Scripture quotations are taken from The Holy Bible, English Standard Version. Copyright ©2001 by Crossway Bibles, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About me...

Christian hedonist in training. Pressing on to know more and more of the joy of the LORD. Pleading with God to rend the heavens and revive and refresh my own soul, as well as His Church, to His praise, honor and glory.

Thank God. He can make men and women in middle life sing again with a joy that has been chastened by a memory of their past failures. ~ Alan Redpath

My other websites

tent of meeting: Prayer for reformation & revival

(See also Zechariah821. Zechariah821 is a mirror site of tent of meeting, found on WordPress)

deerlifetrumpet: Encouragement for those seeking reformation & revival in the Church

RSS feed